Cresco Police Department

Cresco Police Vehicles outside of opera house at night

The Cresco Police Department is responsible for law enforcement within the City Limits of the City of Cresco; this includes enforcing the Code of Iowa and Cresco Municipal Code, criminal investigation, traffic and parking enforcement, accident investigation and general law enforcement duties.

The Department is made up seven members: Chief, Assistant Chief, Lieutenant, two full-time patrol officers and two part-time patrol officers.

Contact Us

Phone: 563-547-2424

Emergency: 911


124 S Park Pl Cresco, IA

View Map

Connect With Us

Meet the Department

Tim S. Ruroden

Chief of Police

Joined the department in December, 2011. Chief Ruroden is a graduate of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and is a member of the Northeast Iowa Drug Task Force and the Mid-States Crime Information Center. He is also a current member of the US Coast Guard Auxiliary. He has served several communities including Fayette, West Union, Sumner, and Postville as a part-time officer from 1992 to 2002. He served the City of Postville as a full-time officer from 2002 to 2007 and then served the City of Dysart as Chief of Police from 2007-2011.

David D. Winkie

Assistant Chief

Joined the department in 1995. He was promoted to Assistant Chief in 1998. Assistant Chief Winkie is a graduate of University of Northern Iowa and the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and is a member of the Mid-States Crime Information Center.

David M. Godman


Joined the department in 2003. He was promoted to Sergeant in 2009 then to Lieutenant in 2010. Sergeant Godman is a graduate of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and Missouri Law Enforcement Academy. Officer Godman had previously worked for the LaGrange and Palmyra Missouri Police Departments and the Bloomfield Iowa Police Department.

Sam Fotiadis


Joined the department in May 2020. He attended Iowa Western Community College, and is a spring 2018 graduate of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy. Sergeant Fotiadis has previously worked for the Clarke County Sheriff's Office as both a jailer and for four years as a deputy and for Howard County Sheriff's Office as a deputy for 2 years. Fotiadis is part of the Northeast Iowa Task Force and has attended various narcotic and other law enforcement training.

Ben Hillyer

Patrol Officer

Joined the department in February 2021. Officer Hillyer is a 2021 graduate of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy. He received is Associates of Arts degree in Law Enforcement from NIACC in Mason City. He comes from a family law enforcement professionals.

Blake Welper

Patrol Officer

Joined the department in January of 2022. Officer Welper is a Rochester, MN native and a 2014 graduate of Lourdes High School. After graduation he joined the Marine Corps and served for 6 years. He also attended law enforcement courses at Rochester Community Technical College. His experience includes security for several Marine Corps Units and was a Correctional Officer for Mower County, MN for three years.

Grant Doeppke

Patrol Officer

Joined the department part-time in December of 2013 and came on full-time as March 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions

Green park